On Cheering for a Winning Team

I started following sports in 2007 at the ripe age of 20. I was living in Seattle and fell in love with the Mariners. To some degree or another I rooted for the Seahawks and the Sounders as well. That’s just the kind of city it is. Seattlites are so happy and proud of anything that comes out of our city. We believe that their success represents us.

As I left Seattle and headed to Reno, then New York City, I found respect when I told people I was a Mariner/Seahawks fan. Occasionally at Yankee games, someone would taunt and pick on me, but it felt like pure belligerence. They were the evil empire, something to be universally hated and picked apart. I represented sweet, passive, environmentally conscious Seattle: city of losing teams. Who doesn’t love rooting for the underdogs?

The last couple of years as a Seattle fan has been amazing. Back to back Superbowl appearances? 12th man? Marshawn Lynch’s skittles? I’ve loved every minute of it. (Except for a few key minutes on Sunday night which I’d rather not discuss.) I’ve never supported a winning team. I was raised in Buffalo in the 90s when the Bills became an acronym for Boy, I Love Losing Superbowls. My college football team was an embarrassment. The Mariner’s couldn’t get a winning season. Two days ago wasn’t the first time in my life I’ve watched the Seahawks lose a Superbowl and felt the collective hope of my town deflate. 2005-2006, anyone?! I felt like I deserved to have a team that I care for succeed. Cheering for losing teams can get exhausting. Every fan deserves a little reward.

But something interesting happened that I hadn’t expected. I saw a huge surge in hatred of the Seahawks, mocking of the fans and calling them bandwagon. It was inescapable. I found myself having to defend Pete Carrol, Marshawn Lynch, Richard Sherman, the 12th Man campaign. I had to prove that I was allowed to be a Seahawks fan. How long had I followed them? What were my connections to the city? I was taken aback. I still had that Seattle mentality of, “How could anyone pick on sweet, passive, environmentally-conscious us?” Because we are winners. And there’s some people that love nothing more to see winners fail.

I’m grateful for the experience of the last couple of seasons, not just because of the highs of watching the success. I gained an empathy for fans of other teams that I naturally hated. Yankee fans. Red Sox fans. Dallas Cowboy fans. Sure there are rude ones in the bunch, but when it comes down to it, they are hated, because they are successful, and we only choose to see their fans as smug. It seems like everyone hates a winner.

I’ve always said, too, that I was only okay with fans from these teams that were from the area and were lifelong fans. But I’m rethinking that as well. It’s sports! Why should anyone have to prove their legitimacy as a fan? It was weird to live in New York City and see so many people come out of the woodwork and speak my language. I never have anyone to discuss the Mariner’s with, but all of a sudden I could talk Seahawks for days with practical strangers. It’s nice, and I didn’t feel the need to check anyone’s credentials on whether they are allowed to be a fan as opposed to a bandwagon fan. It’s a party, and everyone is invited. The Seahawks are a fun team to support. I’m sure that in the future years when the Seahawks aren’t as good, many of those people will fade away and not follow the team. Who cares?! Isn’t that what the glory days are about? Being popular and adored.

I’m so proud of my Seattle boys these last couple of years, and I’ll put up with all the hating, nay-sayers. It just comes with the territory.

Leave a comment